Our Collection:   

The Central BC Railway and Forestry Museum is home to many locomotives, rolling stock and heritage railway buildings. Most are open to visitors to go into and explore. Many of our pieces were used in rail lines that pass through or are connected to Central BC. These include; the Grand Trunk Pacific Railway, Canadian National Railway, Pacific Great Eastern Railway and BC Rail.

The electric locomotive, GF6-C 6001, used to haul coal at Tumbler Ridge.
Only seven of these locomotives were made and all were scrapped,
except for the 6001 which is now located at the Museum.

 

Our collection also contains a large amount of forestry equipment which was used in both logging and processing lumber in local operations. We also have a selection of archival holdings which include railway related schematics, railway timetables and equipment manuals.

46ft. Beehive Burner from the local sawmill, Les Pas Lumber.
Pictured here at the museum.

 

Central BC Railway and Forestry Museum’s History

The museum began as a preservation society in 1983 with an effort to restore a 1903 wooden Russel Snowplow gifted by Northwood Pulp and Timber.

The wooden 6001 Russel Snowplow.
Pictured here at Northwood Pulp and Paper in the mid-60s.

 

In 1984, the city of Prince George gifted 6.5 acres to the Railroad Preservation Society for a Museum site. Track was laid, artifacts and rolling stock were collected and the Central B.C. Railroad Preservation & Museum Society opened its doors in July of 1986.

The mandate of the Museum was changed in 1989 to include forestry in the collecting mandate.